EXPLAINER: How 109 Senators will elect Senate President, Deputy on Tuesday

Barring any last minute change, the Nigerian Senate will on Tuesday, June 11, get new presiding officers: Senate President and Deputy Senate President.

The two officers, who will preside over the affairs of the upper legislative house for the next four years (if they are not removed from office) will be elected among the 109 senators.

On Thursday, President Muhammadu Buhari issued a proclamation for inauguration of the 9th National Assembly. That is, the four-year tenure of the 109 Senators-elect will commence on Tuesday.

Shortly after the inauguration, the lawmakers are expected to elect their presiding officers.

Currently, the race is between two Senators; Ahmed Lawan, who was the immediate past Leader of the 8th Senate and his predecessor, Ali Ndume.

Once the Senators-elect meet on Tuesday, the Clerk of the National Assembly is expected to read a proclamation for the holding of the first session of the Senate. Thereafter, he will proceed to the roll call in alphabetical order.

premiumtimesng.com/10 June 2019

Read more…

Leave a Comment